FIRE ISLAND

by maddyrotman1

IMG_4988

As I was recently cleaning up around my room and relentlessly trying to find god knows what, I accidentally came across an old disposable camera of mine. Having absolutely no recollection of what it could have been from, I excitedly took it to get developed. As I looked through the pictures, I relived summer memories of visiting Fire Island in New York.

IMG_4983

While I was in New York over the summer, I visited my cousins in Huntington. One of the days we were there, we took a mini trip to Fire Island to enjoy the nice weather, California style. This required a short drive followed by a ferry ride in which many families pushed and shoved their way on in hopes of not having to wait for the next one. Luckily, we got on and it was smooth sailing from there. Throughout the day I enjoyed a dip in the surprisingly warm ocean, soaked up the sun I had been missing so much, and cooled down with a mega scoop of ice cream from the small town next to the beach.

As I looked around at all the beautiful beach cottages, I daydreamed about living in one some day and being able to wake up to the sounds and sights of the ocean. Big windows flooded with light, soft bushes of grass and sand as a front yard, spacious patios; they were all so dreamy!

Comment and let me know what your favorite beach is.

Below are some pictures taken on my iPhone from the same day.

IMG_5512Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

all photos taken by Maddy Rotman

