FOOD & FREE TIME

by maddyrotman1

photo 3-4

Hello there!

Similarly to most teenage girls, some of my favorite things to do in my limited free time are

1. eat (duh)

2. listen to music

3. be inspired

This past weekend I was able to do all three of these things at the same time! As you may have seen from my previous post, I spent the four day weekend bundled up in my family’s cuddly and cozy Colorado condo. This was a great chance for me to kick back and relax after a fast paced week of school.

It was also an excellent opportunity to catch up on some of my favorite magazines, my tumblr, and my pinterest, all of which I seem to rarely have time for these days. I was so excited to make some time dedicated to these things, as they are primarily where I find inspiration for my blog posts. (For the food part, I made an arugula and spinach salad with avocado, goat cheese, and pomegranate seeds and washed it all down with a steamy, spicy chai latte.)

If you don’t have a pinterest or a tumblr, I would strongly suggest trying them out! Tumblr is for those who like to keep things simple. Your tumblr is basically just a compilation of photos, songs, and links that you selectively “reblog” from a feed. The material on your feed is what is being reblogged by people you follow.

Pinterest on the other hand is a little bit more complex. The basic structure of pinterest is the same as tumblr where you have a feed of photos that you “re-pin” based off of who you follow. However, with Pinterest you are able to re-pin that photo into a specific category or “board” that you create. You are able to create as many boards as you want and can name them whatever you want. Another cool thing about Pinterest is the photos you re-pin have links to their sources. This means if you come across  a picture of food that makes you drool, you can click on the source link and it will take you to the website it was originally posted on, which usually contains its recipe!

Here is an example of what a tumblr looks like: (this is screenshot of one page of mine)

IMG_5462

And here is what Pinterest looks like:

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 1.01.08 AMScreen Shot 2014-02-20 at 1.01.29 AM

view of an individual board:

Screen Shot 2014-02-20 at 1.04.18 AM

What I love about Tumblr and Pinterest is the ability the two sites have to constantly educate, entertain, and inspire others. It’s like creating your personalized, perfect world through a series of images and then living in it virtually!

Thanks for reading and make sure to follow my Pinterst/comment and let me know what inspires you!

-Maddy

